Show/Hide Menu Show/Hide Search

This episode, we talk to author Brian Coleman. Coleman has written three volumes of what he calls “invisible liner notes” — blow-by-blow accounts of the making of classic hip-hop records from the people who were there. The newest entry in the series is Check the Technique, Vol. 2, which you can (and should!) cop here.

We discuss KMD, the differences between the two emcees in Black Star, the reason Licensed to Ill never made it into his books, why first or second albums are always a group’s best, and plenty more.

Tracks featured in this episode:

  1. Beastie Boys, “B-Boy Bouillabaisse
  2. Gravediggaz, “1-800 Suicide”
  3. Wu-Tang Clan, “C.R.E.A.M.”
  4. Jeru The Damaja, “D. Original”
  5. KMD, “What A Nigga Know”
  6. MF DOOM, “Doomsday”
  7. Dr. Octagon, “3000”
  8. The Coup, “Piss On Your Grave”
  9. Black Star, “Children’s Story”
  10. Black Star, “Respiration”
  11. Beastie Boys, “Girls”
comments powered by Disqus

Previous / Next: